Home   |   About Us   |  Inductees   |   Nominations   |   Donate   |   Contact Us   |   Centralia Links

1974 Centralia High School Football Team
The Centralia Sports Hall of Fame
2008 Team Award Winner


Front Row (L-R): Ed Basch, Paul Holtkamp, Mark Smith, Don Ashby, Morris Bibb, Randy Redfeairn, Neil Arning, Mark Bruns, Arthur Moss, Mike Smith (Mgr.)  Second Row (L-R): David Pennington, Ray Hawkins, Steve Smith, Albert Lawson, Buddy McMillan, Steve Duensing, Jerry Franklin, Charles Wilkin, Roger Roetemeyer, Mike Heyduck, Robin Lyons (Trainer).  Third Row (L-R): Gary Gaetti, Bill Roller, Jim Elling, Jamie Warnock, Keith Topper, Cornell Sidney, Brian Myers, Scott Cooksey, Larry Woodard, Bob Worlds, Kelly Gaston (Mgr.).  Fourth Row (L-R): Graham Upkike (Asst. Coach), Kevin Ladwig, Randy Richardson, Brian McManus, Paul Bright, Greg Sprehe, Don Smith (Head Coach).  Not Pictured:Felix Giboney, Jim Bradford, David Agee (Mgr.) Ast. Coaches: Bill Blair, Dick Carpenter, Larry James, Jeff Carling

The Orphans finished the regular season with an 8-1 record and tied Mt. Vernon for the South Seven Conference title. Their only regular season loss was to Harrisburg (12-14).  This qualified the team for the first-ever IHSA football playoffs in class 4A. 

There were five classes with only sixteen teams qualifying in each class compared to today’s playoff system of eight classes with 32 teams in each class.  The Orphans beat Mascoutah (32-7) in their first game then lost to Mattoon (6-32).

Passing - Mark Smith 27 of 79 for 421 yards; 
Points Scored - Morris Bibb 128; 
Rushing - Bibb 234 for 1,499 yards; Steve Duensing 104 for 511 yards, Gary Gaetti 21 for 82 yards;
Receiving - Bibb 4 for 33, Steve Smith 6 for 139, Gaetti 5 for 68. 
Mark Smith and Morris Bibb received All-State recognition.  
South Seven Conference honors went to Don Ashby, Smith, and Bibb.



©2009 The Centralia Sports Hall of Fame Committee  -  all rights reserved
Site design by
Illinois Websites